We have recently confirmed a critical bug related to changing the backup set retention policy settings using the AhsayCBS web console affecting all backup set types, which can cause data to be removed from the retention area after one day or one job, instead of retention period specified by the customer.
If a customer enters a value for the retention policy on the AhsayCBS web console which is not listed in the drop-down menu (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10, 14,21,28,100, and 365) and saves the change, AhsayCBS will set the value of retention policy to 1 instead of the value entered by the customer.
For example, if a value 15 days is entered for the simple retention policy, instead of deleted/updated files remaining in the retention area for 15 days, where they can be still restored if required and only permanently deleted after 15 days. They will be in fact permanently deleted after 1 day.
This issue only affects customers who have changed their retention policy settings using the AhsayCBS web console and used a value not listed in the drop-down menu (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10, 14,21,28,100, and 365).
In the latest AhsayCBS version v184.108.40.206 or above, a special one-time batch job is available to identify and change the retention policy value from 1 to a default value of 90, once the job has completed a log file is created containing the users and backup sets that have been updated. The log saved in the following location %CBS_INSTALL_PATH%/logs/retention-policy-reset.log
Stop! Do not upgrade until you contact a member our Sales team email@example.com for assistance with your maintenance renewal.
Our professional service team is ready to provide immediate assistance to partners with AhsayCBS v8 upgrades.
Please contact a member our Sales team firstname.lastname@example.org to obtain a quotation for the AhsayCBS upgrade service.